associations, labour unions, consumer associations and the academic community. The Council reports to Parliament through the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce.

Statistics Canada. Statistics Canada became the new name for the Dominion Bureau of Statistics with the proclamation of a new Statistics Act (SC 1971, c.15) on May 1, 1971. The Bureau was initially set up by statute in 1918 as the central statistical agency for Canada (SC 1918, c.43). In 1948 this statute, which had been consolidated as the Statistics Act (RSC 1927, c.190), was repealed and replaced by the Statistics Act (RSC 1952, c.257) which was amended by SC 1952-53, c.18, assented to March 31, 1953. The 1971 Act replaces that statute.

The functions of Statistics Canada are to compile, analyze and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct regularly a census of population and agriculture of Canada as required under the Act.

Statistics Canada is a major publication agency of the federal government; its reports cover all aspects of the national economy and social conditions of the country. The administrative head of the bureau is the Chief Statistician of Canada who has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce.

Tariff Board. Constituted in 1931, the Board derives its duties and powers from four statutes: the Tariff Board Act (RSC 1970, c.T-1); the Customs Act (RSC 1970, c.C-40); the Excise Tax Act (RSC 1970, c.E-13); and the Anti-dumping Act (RSC 1970, c.A-15).

Under the Tariff Board Act, the Board makes inquiry into and reports on any matter in relation to goods that, if brought into Canada, are subject to or exempt from customs duties or excise taxes. Reports of the Board are tabled in Parliament by the Minister of Finance. It is also the duty of the Board to inquire into any other matter in relation to the trade and commerce of Canada that the Governor in Council sees fit to refer to the Board.

Under the provisions of the Customs Act, the Excise Tax Act and the Anti-dumping Act, the Tariff Board acts as a court to hear appeals from decisions of the Department of National Revenue, Customs and Excise, in respect of excise taxes, tariff classification, value for duty, drawback of customs duties and determination of normal value or export price in dumping matters. Declarations of the Board on appeals are final and conclusive but the Acts contain provisions for appeal on questions of law to the Federal Court and thence to the Supreme Court of Canada.

Tax Review Board. The Tax Review Board, created in 1949 as the Income Tax Appeal Board and later changed to the Tax Appeal Board, now operates under the Tax Review Board Act 1970 (SC 1970-71, c. 11). The Board is declared by statute to be a court of record and has jurisdiction to hear appeals by taxpayers against their assessment under the Income Tax Act and also appeals under the Estate Tax Act, the Old Age Security Act and certain sections of the Canada Pension Plan. An appeal lies from the Board to the Federal Court of Canada and a further appeal from that court to the Supreme Court of Canada. The Board consists of a chairman, an assistant chairman and three other members. Its offices are located at Ottawa and it hears appeals at 28 centres throughout Canada as required and at the main centres, such as Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver, several times a year. The Board is under the jurisdiction of the Minister of Justice but is independent of the Department of Justice.

Telesat Canada. Telesat Canada was incorporated in 1969 by an Act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.T-4). Its objectives are to establish satellite telecommunication systems providing telecommunication services on a commercial basis. The recommendations of a government task force on satellite policy and the use of satellite technology for domestic communications appointed in 1967 and a 1968 White Paper based to a large extent on those recommendations preceded the establishing legislation.

The authorized capital of the corporation consists of 10 million common shares without par value and 5 million preferred shares with a par value of \$10 per share. At the end of 1972, there were 6 million common shares issued and outstanding. The corporation will ultimately be owned by three main groups of shareholders: the federal government, the telecommunications common carriers and the general public. Currently, the corporation is owned by the first two groups.

Telesat is not a Crown corporation, nor is it an agent of Her Majesty. Its annual report is tabled in the House of Commons by the Minister of Communications.

Textile and Clothing Board. This Board was established by SC 1971, c.39 to receive complaints and conduct inquiries about textile and clothing goods imported into Canada under such conditions as to cause or threaten serious injury to Canadian production. After its investigative procedures are completed, the Board makes written recommendations to the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce. The Board consists of three members appointed by the Governor in Council and maintains its head office in the National Capital Region.

Treasury Board. The Treasury Board was first established as a committee of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada by Order in Council PC 3 of July 2, 1867, and was made a statutory committee in 1869. The Minister of Finance was appointed Chairman of the Board, with four other Privy Councillors to be designated as members by the Governor in Council. The Secretary of the Board and the members of his staff were employed by the Department of Finance.